PDA

View Full Version : How do you AFFORD your Collections?!

pentoolart
03-15-2014, 03:03 PM
Hey Everyone!

I have an issue that I have been wondering about for a while, so I thought I would see what everyone has to say about it…

How do you all afford your collections?

Let me give you some of my background here. I am 44 years old. I am a college professor. I currently teach a total of 10 classes per semester, at a total of 4 different colleges here in southern California!

I am the only income for my family, and I am supporting a wife and a 10-year old son.

BUT, I have also been collecting TMNT action figures since 1988.

It is killing me that I only have 7 more figures to get to complete an entire collection of the figures since their initial release back in 1988… a whole collection from 1988 to 2014… and I just need 7 more.

The problem is: Those 7 figures are the most expensive ones left. I just need Undercover (cloth trench coats) Leonard, Michelangelo and Raphael. I also need to eventually get Warrior Rocksteady, Mutant Masters Leonardo and Michelangelo and the very last 2 Next Mutation figures… Donatello with his Hydro Skimmer and the other Camo Blitz Cycle.

Unfortunately, those last two figures are so rare and expensive (when I have seen them for sale on the rare occasion) that I am bummed because I will probably never own them!

It is killing me because I live by that Motto: "COLLECT 'EM ALL!"

AND, with all the new merchandise to hit the toy shelves just this year alone (and it looks like 2014 will be totally awesome for Turtle collectors!), I would love to hear how you guys keep up with it all!

I will say that I am in total awe of the great collectors like: Stephan Reese, Michael Vaughn and Tokka. You guys are my inspiration as a fellow collector.

I just don't know how you do it!