PDA

View Full Version : Who Here Draws With a Tablet?

RaphAndDonnie
04-07-2014, 01:53 PM
I ask this because I recently got a stylus to make typing and drawing easier. What's your experiences drawing with a tablet? Is it easier and/ or better than drawing with a mouse and what apps or programs can you reccomend?

ProactiveMan
04-07-2014, 06:52 PM
It is much easier than drawing with a mouse, but it takes a bit of practice before it feels as natural as drawing with a pencil. I've been drawing with tablets for about ten years, and I'm still more comfortable with pencil and paper.

I use Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop (which are both expensive) and a program called Toonboom Animate, which is an alternative to Flash with much nicer drawing tools. I bet you could find cheep alternatives, I just don't know much about them.

MrPliggins
04-07-2014, 07:48 PM
There is definitely a learning curve. I've been doing it for years, and I'm still uncomfortable drawing from scratch with a tablet. However I've become much more comfortable with digital painting with my tablet.

I find that my hand shakes too much which makes a shaky line. It seems like it's better to zoom out a little bit and do broad strokes quickly, rather than slow intricate detail.

What I sometimes do is draw it with pencil, then retrace it with a tablet, just to give myself practice with drawing with the thing. This TMNT/X-men#1 mash-up I'm working on currently is a good example:

http://i61.tinypic.com/2hgg55v.jpg

Zulithe
04-07-2014, 08:12 PM
Me. I have an Intuos3, Intuos4 and Intuos5, all medium. I need to get a small size one so I can use it on the go, but what I'd really like is one of the ones with the screen... Honestly, been thinking about getting a Microsoft Surface... but will probably wait for their 3rd gen version. 2nd gen seems to be a nice bump though.