PDA

View Full Version : [Comment] Chrome threw a malware error


Archon_Turtle
05-07-2014, 07:08 PM
See attached image.

TheMasterTurtle
05-07-2014, 07:32 PM
I received this yesterday and didn't really know what to do about it except "proceed with caution"

plastroncafe
05-07-2014, 07:34 PM
A'right, fess up. Who put something questionable in their sig files?

Donatello19
05-07-2014, 07:34 PM
What the heck is a malware error, anyway?

snake
05-07-2014, 07:54 PM
My files are being violated!

Powder
05-07-2014, 09:18 PM
I'm sure it's related to one of the advertisements. I've had that come up in the past but not in ages since I've been using adblock & whatnot.

Krang
05-09-2014, 03:18 PM
It's very unlikely to be caused by an advertisement. The only advertising publisher we use is Google, and they carefully screen all ads that are displayed on this site (not to mention the fact that they are the same company that created Chrome).

Most likely, someone posted an image hosted on the site mentioned in the error (boonage.pj...). If anyone notices a particular thread or post where this is happening, please let me know.

Powder
05-11-2014, 02:04 AM
Whoever's sig is hosting the malware posted on this page of this thread, because it's where I met the same warning a moment ago-

http://forums.thetechnodrome.com/showthread.php?p=1262116#post1262116

Archon_Turtle
05-11-2014, 02:46 AM
Whoever's sig is hosting the malware posted on this page of this thread, because it's where I met the same warning a moment ago-

http://forums.thetechnodrome.com/showthread.php?p=1262116#post1262116

Yup. Got the same error when clicking on Powders link.

Whatswiththeheadbands?
05-11-2014, 03:50 AM
Whoever's sig is hosting the malware posted on this page of this thread, because it's where I met the same warning a moment ago-

http://forums.thetechnodrome.com/showthread.php?p=1262116#post1262116

Yep, I've just got the exact same warning. I wonder who's signature it is

Archon_Turtle
05-11-2014, 04:12 AM
It's yipster32

Mayhem
05-11-2014, 05:01 AM
And yet Firefox says nothing... curious.

Whatswiththeheadbands?
05-11-2014, 06:14 AM
It's yipster32

I don't think it is. I looked at the link on my Ipod touch, and it redirected me to one of Raph's posts.

Not trying to balme anyone, but that's what it directed me to.

Archon_Turtle
05-11-2014, 07:07 AM
I don't think it is. I looked at the link on my Ipod touch, and it redirected me to one of Raph's posts.

Not trying to balme anyone, but that's what it directed me to.

Open that raph signature photo of his in another window. Look at the url.

Archon_Turtle
05-11-2014, 07:11 AM
See attached again

Whatswiththeheadbands?
05-11-2014, 07:51 AM
Open that raph signature photo of his in another window. Look at the url.

Oh right. It's just the link Powder provided directed me to Raph's post.

My bad.

Sofistocat
05-11-2014, 08:27 AM
Has anyone read the advanced info? The issue is the server network Rutger's collection site is running through. It's being flagged because other sites utilizing the same network have been flagged for suspicious content. Rutger is not giving anybody malware, though you may increase the chance of inviting it by being on his sites network. The server is across the Atlantic and touches god knows how many different networks getting to your computer screen. Ah, the risks of hosting...

Krang
05-15-2014, 02:43 PM
Thanks for helping me track this down, everyone. The problem should be corrected now.