PDA

View Full Version : Are lyrics important to you?

Wesley
05-16-2015, 11:00 AM
Are lyrics important to you? I like listening to some songs without paying too much attention to the lyrics. If it sounds good, I'll like it. For example, I don't know what the Red Hot Chili Peppers are singing about most of the time, but I like their sound.

Powder
05-16-2015, 11:54 AM
Yes & no. I like hip-hop to be cleverly written or impressive rhythmically (like the Big Pun line "Dead in the middle of little Italy little did we know that we riddled with middle men who didn't do diddly"), but otherwise I can go with the flow of whatever. I listen to far more instrumental music than I do stuff with singers, so I guess that speaks to the significance of lyrics to me personally. :trazz:

Whatswiththeheadbands?
05-16-2015, 12:49 PM
Yes. Without a doubt, yes.

CylonsKlingonsDaleksOhMy
05-16-2015, 01:06 PM
As an author, I pretty much listen exclusively to the instrumental versions of songs I like. Lyrics interfere with my writing.

Leo656
05-16-2015, 03:40 PM
I'm often more into the lyrics of a song than the music itself.

A lot of bands people say "suck" are actually quite wonderful, lyrically, which tells me that people generally only hear the beat and the bass. I am not those people.

pennydreadful
05-16-2015, 04:59 PM
Yes, lyrics are important to me.

Kanon
05-16-2015, 11:17 PM
I would say no.

If the melody is good and I can hear clearly what they sing, itīs best for me.
But what they sing, I couldnīt care less.

I know itīs kinda confusing :P

senpai
05-16-2015, 11:33 PM
Sometimes I'll like a song I hear on the radio and even when I can't make out the lyrics I'll still enjoy them...but if I look up the lyrics and they're not to my liking I typically stop listening to the song.

Also--I now have the persona of the stone warrior, yes!
http://oyster.ignimgs.com/wordpress/write.ign.com/6390/2013/08/p4a_persona_summon.gif

Netkeeper
05-17-2015, 12:58 AM