PDA

View Full Version : Real Life TMNT Related locations in Northampton, MA

TriceratonZog
10-12-2016, 02:44 PM
I'm heading from Dallas to the Shellback Artworks closing in Maine this weekend and aside from a couple NYC trips, this is my first time up in the northeast so I’m also taking the opportunity to visit the Turtles Holy Land of Northampton, Mass! :tsmile:

I’ve been rereading the old comics that take place there to keep an eye out, but if anyone has tracked down real places inserted in the Turtles exploits and places pivotal to Mirage's history I'd love some tips.

I’m especially wondering if the Farmhouse was based on any specific real life counterpart,
thus far the rest of my list consists of:

(Former site of) Eastman’s Words & Pictures Museum
140 Main St. Northampton, MA 01060

The Original Mirage Studios / Residence
(From the end of credits scene in the Turtle Power Doc it looks to now be an open lot)
56 Main St. Northampton, MA 01060

The Hotel Northampton (Shown in V1 #14 When Casey is looking for the stolen Brass Bull)
36 King St, Northampton, MA 01060

funatic
10-15-2016, 10:57 AM
Just saw this - hope you havn't visited yet as I've lived in Northampton for 6 years and can give you a few more:

Mirage Studios
16 Market St
Not sure if this is the exact address. It's a big red brick building and last I checked had a teeny turtle-head Mirage logo on the ground level door. This is the last building to serve as Mirage Studios and I believe they still own the space for storage of comics/memorabilia and a couple former Mirage artists may still rent studio space there. They unfortunately don't offer regular tours (though maybe it wouldn't hurt to ask Dan Berger at dan@miragelicensing.com). I've gone in the lobby a few times to pick up art from Dan or Katie. They had a few posters on the wall and a set of the statues but that was many years ago.

Intersection of Main & King