PDA

View Full Version : That damn blaster virus...


Barkworm
05-03-2004, 03:39 AM
As you might have heard, the new blaster virus called "Sasser" is around. This has to be the third version of this damn thing. :x
I always get infected before I have the chance to read the warnings. Why are people programming that stuff? Because they want Microsoft to release better security patches? Or is it because they have no life (I suppose the latter)?
Anyone else got infected?

That Matt Guy
05-03-2004, 04:07 AM
No, I haven't been hit by this one... yet. But I did get slammed by the original blaster virus months ago. That thing really pissed me off.

Barkworm
05-03-2004, 04:27 AM
You should better get the new patch, that thing is really annoying.

JameO
05-03-2004, 04:35 AM
Yeah I know people got to mess around make these viruses or hack into computers and ruin hardrives it is just stupid and whoever does it has no life. How does this virus start? And what are the affects?

Voltron
05-03-2004, 05:07 AM
My comp says I have a virus now, but I think it's just some kind of pop-up. Other than that, I've never had a virus on here.

GK Punk
05-03-2004, 08:04 AM
I spent the weekend fighting that god damn virus.
I managed to beat it though. I think Blaster Virus now ph33rs my l33t skillz.

Meira-Bates
05-03-2004, 08:11 AM
Yeah two of my friends (both of which are on this board btw) work at MSN...they've been having a hell of a busy day at work since that virus hit. >.< Ya know some people actualy try to blame the viruses on MSN itself? Oi.

GK Punk
05-03-2004, 08:18 AM
Yeah it really was a pain in the ass. I had a Trojan finder detect it, but then I had to figure out what files it was running from, because no Virus scanner I had would delete it. I ended up deleting Several EXE file from my Windows and Windows/System32 folders and finally it worked. God bless Trial and error!

05-03-2004, 08:40 AM
Whenever I have a virus that's noticeable when working on my computer, I just format. I don't even bother taking the time to fix it.

That Matt Guy
05-03-2004, 08:51 AM
The virus made GK copy my sig.

Barkworm
05-03-2004, 08:51 AM
Yeah it really was a pain in the ass. I had a Trojan finder detect it, but then I had to figure out what files it was running from, because no Virus scanner I had would delete it. I ended up deleting Several EXE file from my Windows and Windows/System32 folders and finally it worked. God bless Trial and error!
On my computer it was rather easily be found. There were two files (called advserve.exe, I think) which exhausted my CPU to 100%. I deleted them, then installed the new patch.

GK Punk
05-03-2004, 08:54 AM
Yeah it really was a pain in the ass. I had a Trojan finder detect it, but then I had to figure out what files it was running from, because no Virus scanner I had would delete it. I ended up deleting Several EXE file from my Windows and Windows/System32 folders and finally it worked. God bless Trial and error!
On my computer it was rather easily be found. There were two files (called advserve.exe, I think) which exhausted my CPU to 100%. I deleted them, then installed the new patch.

I also had another one doing it, I can't remember the name of the .exe file though. But Yeah, adserve2.exe or whatever was the main one I had.

The virus made GK copy my sig.

Nope, that was Machi :p

That Matt Guy
05-03-2004, 02:15 PM
Your ruining it.

GK Punk
05-03-2004, 08:03 PM
Your ruining it.

:cry:

Lookit that, you made me shed a single tear.

Machias Banshee
05-04-2004, 06:27 AM
:tangel:



Man... our entire University system got hit by the sasser virus. But know the funny thing?

My system version's too old for it to get infected!!!!

:lol: Bwahahahaaaaa *hugs her Win98*

MTN889
05-04-2004, 03:38 PM
Yeah I got hit... but I was too fast for it! :evilgrin: and all it did was that shutdown stuff... Im too cool for those virus guys.

And the alert level for this thing is only medium, can you believe it.

Dane E5R
05-04-2004, 04:17 PM
What the hell does this thing do?

That Matt Guy
05-04-2004, 04:31 PM
It shuts your computer down over and over. That's all.

Barkworm
05-04-2004, 10:13 PM
It also exhausts your CPU to 100% through some exe-files.

GK Punk
05-04-2004, 10:20 PM
It also exhausts your CPU to 100% through some exe-files.

Yeah that was the biggest problem I had with it.

05-04-2004, 10:21 PM
Luckily my computer is too 1337 for that virus. I do get other small viruses, though. They're the annoying ones.

GK Punk
05-04-2004, 10:25 PM
This was the only major one I ever got. I did get one back in like 97 that deleted windows from my hard drive, but I have no idea what that one was, and I was a total PC n00b

Barkworm
05-04-2004, 10:26 PM
In 1997 I had a 100 Mhz Pentium and no access to the internet.

GK Punk
05-04-2004, 10:34 PM
In 1997 I had a 100 Mhz Pentium and no access to the internet.

In 97 I had a top of the line computer, and internet acsess. Never again have I had a top of the line computer :lol:

Hyper Metal Sonic
05-04-2004, 10:40 PM
*pats his Mac*

Good boy.

He's had his shots.

GK Punk
05-04-2004, 10:41 PM
Stop reminding me that I need to buy a mac!

Barkworm
05-04-2004, 10:43 PM
http://www.penny-arcade.com/images/2002/20020712l.gif

GK Punk
05-04-2004, 10:45 PM
LMAO!

05-04-2004, 10:45 PM
That strip describes Mac users so damn well.

The Defibrillator
05-04-2004, 10:46 PM
I'm in the graphic-arts dept at school, and all we use is macs....they're good, but 'spensive.

05-04-2004, 10:47 PM
Oh, Macs are superior for video editing and graphic arts. I'll give them that.

GK Punk
05-04-2004, 10:50 PM
Too many mac uses are like that. It's one reason mac has such a bad name. I want one just 'cause they are cool, It'd be fun to have one in addition to a windows based PC

Hyper Metal Sonic
05-04-2004, 10:56 PM
Oh, I have an old PC (AMD K6-2 380mhz, 8GB HD, 192MB Ram, etc.) running Windows 2000. It's in our den and mostly my parents use it and I use it for any sort of backup purposes.

But for 99.9% of my tasks, I use my Mac. It's just so damn reliable. You turn it on, it does it's thing...and it just does it's thing. No whining, no locking up, nothing.

Pure bliss.

Hyper Metal Sonic
05-04-2004, 11:02 PM
And really, Macs aren't that expensive. You compare a Mac with a similarly equipped PC, it's usually only $100-200 more expensive, if even that.

You all think they're expensive because you're comparing them to the Dell, HP, & Compaq $500 "Crap-in-a-box" brand. (With onboard video, onboard audio, and the like)

Edit: You also need to take into account that the eMac and iMac both have monitors built-in. That's $200-300 saved right there, and compare that to a PC...you've got a damn decent price.

05-04-2004, 11:05 PM
I really don't have anything against the Mac. I'm just your stereotypical Windows user that will insult the Mac to my grave. It's just the way it works. And hey! I have a Dell, and it came with good stuff. 64mb DDR video card and Sound Blaster Audigy 2 isn't your typical "on-board" hardware.

Hyper Metal Sonic
05-04-2004, 11:08 PM
I'm not saying all Dells are bad, I'm just saying that when people say Macs are expensive, they usually bring up the Dells you always see on TV and stuff that are like $500 with a $300 mail-in rebate and stuff. Those are the computers that are more or less just....bad.

05-04-2004, 11:08 PM
Yeah, and I got my Dell customized over the internet. If you actually bought those crappy ones at Best Buy or whatever, *shiver* God help you.