The Technodrome Forums

The Technodrome Forums (http://forums.thetechnodrome.com/index.php)
-   Everything Else (http://forums.thetechnodrome.com/forumdisplay.php?f=30)
-   -   If you're a woman, how old is too old to have kids? (http://forums.thetechnodrome.com/showthread.php?t=60916)

Andrew NDB 01-14-2019 02:43 PM

If you're a woman, how old is too old to have kids?

https://cdn1.thr.com/sites/default/f...te_nielsen.jpg

For a woman, at exactly what age does the risk to the baby and the mother become too high to consider getting pregnant? Assuming there is no other health issues going on.

Asking for a friend.

Leo656 01-14-2019 03:02 PM

I've read/heard that somewhere after the late-30s, the likelihood of the kid being born autistic or with some other issues start to skyrocket, with mid/late-40s being almost a guarantee, but I'm sure that's being disputed by some people who'd prefer not to believe it. The math seems to line up, but I'm not a doctor.

But putting that specifically aside, I've still heard that it's generally too risky after 40.

Prowler 01-14-2019 04:13 PM

My mum had me when she was 39 years old already, which was actually a bit late. And she had my brother when she was 32 years old. Nowadays that's probably a rather standard age for a woman to have their first kids in developed nations.

I'm not a woman, so I can't say I know best, but I don't think it's a good idea to have your first child before you're 25 these days. That's a bit early, imo. In fact, having kids in your 20s is quite early nowadays. Not that I have talked to many girls about this subject but the few I've heard talk about this told me they don't really plan on becoming mothers until they're like 30. Granted they were university students and girls who planned to get a master or a post-grad after being done with their bachelors, but most of the girls I know who had kids when they were teenagers or under 25 were of poorer and less educated backgrounds.

Leo656 01-14-2019 04:52 PM