The Technodrome Forums

Go Back   The Technodrome Forums > TMNT Universes > General TMNT Discussion

Notices

Old 03-17-2019, 11:45 AM   #1
MikeandRaph87
Jedi Master

Why Did The Show Never Enter Syndication?

I was an elementary school student with not much knowledge of when the show was airing. It just suddenly stopped. All I remember was it was to transition into a live action show and knew to tape as many episodes as I could. However as of Labor Day 1996 it stopped airing on USA Cartoon Express and CBS Saturday Morning. Why did another network not buy out CBS's rights to air from that time? Quite a few shows are syndicated by networks owned by different companies. It would seem like in the pass 22 plus years that someone who have tried to have bought syndication rights of a television show that had such success. Is there any clear answer as to why for 22 years TMNT(1987) has not aired in the United States? Its always been mind boggling to me.
Old 03-17-2019, 11:56 AM   #2
Original TMNT Cartoon Fan
Overlord

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeandRaph87 View Post
Is there any clear answer as to why for 22 years TMNT(1987) has not aired in the United States? Its always been mind boggling to me.
Season 10 aired between September and November 1996. By that point the franchise was dead since around 1992–1993 (in the USA).

Also, I guess it would take time to air reruns of all 193 episodes so it's better releasing them to DVD.
Original TMNT Cartoon Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2019, 11:57 AM   #3
neatoman
Emperor

Allegedly, Fred Wolf has an absurdly high demand for airing the show. I remember something about Nickelodeon wanting to air it but backed out when they saw what it would cost.
Hahahaha!
neatoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2019, 12:00 PM   #4
MikeandRaph87
Jedi Master

Quote:
Originally Posted by Original TMNT Cartoon Fan View Post